Yucca Valley Presbyterian Church

I’m always open to shows in unusual spaces.  I had the opportunity to show work in this church and had a silly thing happen when I went to set it up.  I had agreed to meet one of the deacons, David, at 9am on the appointed day.

wall4

Three little paintings surrounding the white board in office meeting room, Yucca Valley Presbyterian Church.

I arrived with 10 minutes to spare, so parked in the parking lot and got out and went round the church and confirmed he was not there – all doors were locked and mine was the only vehicle in the lot.  So I waited.  And waited.

Paintings in office meeting room, Yucca Valley Presbyterian Church.

Paintings in office meeting room, Yucca Valley Presbyterian Church.

Half an hour later I started to get concerned so I called him.  It turned out he had approached the church from the other side, parked round the corner where I couldn’t see his truck, didn’t look to see if I was in the main parking lot, unlocked the church and was also waiting patiently but beginning to get a little concerned.  Oh well.  But then we had a bit of a rush as I had to be elsewhere later, and I forgot to take photos of the setup.

wall2

Paintings in office meeting room, Yucca Valley Presbyterian Church.  The red vertical assemblage piece on the bottom left is someone else’s work. 🙂 

 

Yesterday, Doug and I went to the church service – it being the only Sunday during my show that I wasn’t at a show.  Now I get to show you the show.  I got to meet a lot of people, talked about the possibility of teaching some classes at their location, and once again, I forgot to take pics of the two in the sanctuary.

wall3

Paintings over the sofa in office meeting room, Yucca Valley Presbyterian Church.

 

Leave a Reply

