Beginners’ class

Serendipity struck earlier in the week when a couple of ladies who were rv camping at nearby Johnson’s Landing discovered on the internet that I hold art classes and called up to see what the options might be.  Well, they were interested in the “Beginning painting” class that I had planned on running in Borrego Springs that day, but hadn’t had any students.  But, seeing as there is enough space in my living room to hold a small class, and there were only two of them, they came on Thursday to spend the day learning a lot of basics, and to do a little practice in between some of the theories.  It’s the first time I’ve taught this class and I was working from my crib sheet a little, but the timing of the class worked out just as I’d planned for a one-day intensive class.  I’ll also be offering this class as a series of four 2-2.5 hour classes in La Quinta next month so I was able to see where I need to make a couple of adjustments to divide the class up more evenly into four.

students in class

Putting together almost everything we’ve learned in one painting.

Of course I got so involved in enjoying teaching the class I didn’t think to take a photo until they were on the last exercise.  But after a long afternoon and evening in Yuma, it was really nice to be able to work in my slippers!

One thought on “Beginners’ class

Leave a Reply

