An usual class

As they say, experience is what you get when you don’t get what you expect.  And as I haven’t run an exceptional number of paint-n-wine type classes, I’m still getting surprises in them.  The surprise for this class was that not all the anticipated students turned up, and I only had one student – Lisa.

I had planned on guiding my students through ‘And Never Leave‘  but Lisa saw another of my paintings on the gallery wall – ‘Dawn at the end of an era‘ which she really loved, and wanted to paint a version of it.  So, off we set.

It wasn’t until I was part way through explaining a two-color gradient and could see the initial difficulty that Lisa was having, that I realized it was anything but straightforward.  Hmm, guess I’ve been doing this stuff for awhile! Nevertheless, after a few struggles with the transition on the underpainting, I was able to better guide her through the process – and later on how to make some adjustment to colors where she wanted to on the final scene.  As we progressed, she liked the abstract nature of what she was creating more and more (and so did I…) and ended up by not adding mountains and a sun, though there was quite a bit of consideration given to those possibilities, plus one of adding a foreground and the tree from ‘And Never Leave’.

We ended up with three very different paintings, yet all based on one scene.  It is always a wonder to see the vastly different ways artists interpret things, and this experience was a classic example of that.

lisaspainting

Original small painting on the left, Lisa’s painting, and my version on the right.

One thought on “An usual class

Leave a Reply

