Work in progress

Over the holidays (hmm, is that a bit of a misnomer…) I’ve been working on a new oil painting.  I’ve painted this particular dawn a couple times many years ago.  I’ve always loved the image though, and thought that it was about time I revisited it, this time in oil.  It’s 30×40″ and it’s almost complete, I need to do a little more work on the white part of the sun.  Yes, the sun really is that shape when it’s just popping up over the horizon.

creosotedawn

It’s not the best photo – the light is not good in the house late this afternoon, with clouds gathering and promising rain.  As you can see, it’s up on a ‘wall diaper’.  I don’t usually paint in the living room, but moved it in here to dry so I can get the next baby going in the studio.

5 thoughts on “Work in progress

Leave a Reply

