Water on the easel.

On the Easel #2

“Dark water, white wave”. Oil on canvas, 24×12″, $360.

It’s been awhile since I’ve painted in oil – and I love the scent of the linseed that wanders out of the studio and through the house.  Perhaps I need to regard this as a strong incentive to paint more of them.  This new baby, which will be drying on the easel for the best part of a month, probably, as it’s an alla prima with thick textured layers, is one of the early views that I took of the Salton Sea – you can see the photo I worked from resting on the bottom layer of the easel.  The print is dated 2005.  No idea where I took it from, except that it would be Salton City – most likely from the point near Martin Flora park.  I should go back and take more while the sea is still there.

Leave a Reply

