Flying the flag.

US Flag on lattice breezeway wall

Entryway to American Dreams Real Estate office.

A couple months ago I was asked to look at a lattice breezeway wall and quote for painting a US flag on it.  If you don’t also get my newsletters, it ended up being a work in progress at the end of last month, as there were a number of miscalculations and reworks.  Anyway, yesterday I finished it!  The lattice-ness of the metal leaves the flag looking like it’s waving in the wind – and leaves spaces were stars should sometimes be, which made the placement of them… interesting.  I learned a lot on this project

  1. There are precise relative measurements for the dimensions of the US flag (I was happy to find that was true).
  2. Spray paint gives great coverage and an awesome, smooth finish.
  3. Lattices are really tough to block off areas because they’re so wiggly.
  4. You can’t work with spray paint if it’s the least little bit breezy.
  5. Pigments differ markedly between manufacturers (worse than I already knew).
  6. You need a very steady hand to draw stars freehand and get the edges straight.
  7. I do not have steady hands.
  8. I will learn how well these paints stand up to the desert heat and sun.
  9. I like working on metal – this is the third on-metal project I have done.

One thing that this perhaps will lead into is the possibility of my doing paintings on metal – specifically to be outdoor art.  I’ve been asked about that a couple of times recently, and have also had a colleague recommend a suitable source of metal panels on which to paint.  I think I will recommend a coat of the UV Resistant spray that I use on refractured watercolors that are on panel – perhaps that will help preserve the colors longer, without being too expensive.  There is a product I have used on the first signal box mural, that is anti-UV and graffiti resistant, but do not want to commit the building owner to the fact they may never be able to paint over it.

2 thoughts on “Flying the flag.

Leave a Reply

