The beauty of storms

"The Eye of the Storm looks through us All"  Watercolor collage on panel with acrylic edges. 12"x9". $135

“The Eye of the Storm looks through us All” Watercolor collage on panel with acrylic edges. 12″x9″. $135

I have always hesitated (to the point of not) painting one of the huge storms that sadly take  lives and cause much destruction in the mid West.  I also hesitate (to the point of not) painting skies filled with the smoke from wildfires.  The dust filter from these can produce some amazing sunsets, yet I think no one would want to adorn their walls with such a painting, when they cause more grief than their beauty can alleviate.

Yet the prairie storms still entice me.  Yesterday I was working on a small collage and found a dark piece of watercolor with what could be an eye in it.  It drew me to working around this centerpiece and creating a storm collage.  While building it I was thinking of all the recent destruction in Moore, OK and what power is in the air we take for granted when we breathe.  I have to say I find an awesome beauty in the huge storms of the mid-West that I will probably (hopefully) never see in person.  In the end this pieces is more about the fact that for all we can travel in space, and around the world, and faster than the speed of sound, how little we are in the face of such an aspect of sky.

Leave a Reply

