Back to creation.

Step 1. Background sky on watercolor paper.  Waiting for it to get dry enough for the clouds.

Step 1. Background sky on watercolor paper. Waiting for it to get dry enough for the clouds.

Finally I’ve gotten well enough on top of a backlog of paperwork to get back to creating again.  This is the first couple steps in what is going to be a 20×48 refractured watercolor on panel with gallery wrap.  That means I’ll be gluing it around the edges.  It’s one I’ve been planning as a major piece to take to Scottsdale, AZ next month.

The first pic is with the ‘sky’ painted in and the second with the clouds.  As I write, it is still drying.  I will do another two iterations at least, perhaps three, depending on how they look and what shapes I’m going to cut.  In the background you can see a photo on a holding clip – that is what I am going to paint.

Step 2 - the clouds are in.

Step 2 – the clouds are in.

Almost had a boo boo at the bottom where I was adding the dark clouds on the left later in the process – the yellow part of the sky was dry and I wasn’t getting soft edges.  Had to go back in with some yellow and re-wet the bottom, then try to blend it up to the last place it was wet.  Almost came out perfectly.

 
Step 2 – the clouds are in.
2 thoughts on “Back to creation.

  1. Can’t wait for the final result, wish we lived closer and I could watch you work.. but all flights are forbidden this year dear. Waiting with” Bated breath” (forgive the pun!) .

    Like

Leave a Reply

