Skies in Chalks and a Mural

Mecca Lights. Chalk on concrete. 3’x5′

Last week I had fun wearing my fingerprints off on the sidewalk outside Indio City Hall, chalking a dawn at the Fourth Annual Chalk Festival. It’s a very different medium – and I got as messy as a three year old.

Also, in the studio, I have had time to work on a method of mounting watercolor collages on board and varnishing – so they don’t have to be in a frame.

I just finished this week’s little stint of yardwork – which involved raking up leaves etc in the south side yard. I noticed more how the first mural I did has faded – it has been almost seven years since I painted it. That side of the house gets the most sun – and much of the mural is just the original paint. I’ve decided it’s time for a new one. I will keep it light colored to keep the garage cooler – I’m going to try to get it done real soon – before all the little birds who nest in the baskets I put under the eaves are disturbed by my presence.

On the charity front is the painting I did for Memories in the Making, an auction to benefit the San Diego/Imperial chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association. This and other artwork will be auctioned at a benefit evening in San Diego on the 23rd. This is a ticketed evening event. If you are interested or know anyone who might be, please visit www.sanalz.org.

And out in Gallery land, I had “Riverside Dawn” accepted in the Made in California show at the Brea Art Gallery. The reception is on March 24th, 7-9pm.

This month I have two fairs in the desert:

Desert Arts Festivalat Frances Stevens Park in Palm Springs – March 3rd and 4th. That’s this weekend!
La Quinta Art under the Umbrellas – March 24th

Leave a Reply

